Backup&Export all Contacts and Calendar (automated)

I’ve tried this with Calcardbackup as documented here: Nextcloud · syncloud/platform Wiki · GitHub

Question:

This documents how to setup an automated backup.
Based on this my idea for the cronjob which would export the backup to my nextcloud files every day looks like this:
0 4 * * * sudo -u nextcloud PATH=“${PATH}:/snap/bin” /tmp/calcardbackup/calcardbackup /var/snap/nextcloud/current/nextcloud -p -o “/opt/disk/internal/nextcloud/ME/files/C_Data/Backups_Cloud/CalCard” -r 10 > /var/log/calcardbackup.log 2>&1
Would this work? Maybe the Syncloud wiki entry I mentioned in the beginning could be expanded to include the automation.

I have no background in coding/terminal and all that and tried really hard to learn all this by myself but it is getting a little complicated here. Would appreciate any help! :slight_smile:

This export script is more like one time use when migrating away from nextcloud or something I do not even remember now.

Let me ask you a few questions.

1. What exactly are you trying to achieve?
  2. Is Syncloud Backup (Settings - Backup) is not good for that? Why?

Syncloud backup: Backup · syncloud/platform Wiki · GitHub

I see.

1. My main goal is to streamline/automate my backups. The easiest way for me to do this is having the relevant backup files synced to my PC which gets backuped automatically to an HDD. Currently the files synced via nextcloud do not contain the nextcloud contacts or calendar.

2. Not really, because the Syncloud Backups can’t be used as easily and universally to restore certain contacts/calendars and they take up much more space.

That’s why I’m trying to do the cronjob thing.

But now that we’re talking about it:
3. Would it be possible for us to save the Syncloud Backup files to a Nextcloud User’s files so they are automatically synced to client devices? Backups on the Syncloud server only help with certain scenarios, not with drive failure etc.