Syncloud FREE account Disapeared?

Hi,

I’m a happy Syncloud user, and I’ve been using FREE Syncloud account for more than 3 years…
I have a domain like [name].syncloud.it…

But, suddenly, with no prior notice, today I received this email, that seems to say that I no longer have a free account, but a trial account:

Syncloud free trial expires in 30 days
Hello,
Thank you for trying Syncloud. We strive to improve our product and rely purely on subscriptions to make that happen.
You have 30 days on the free plan to decide if Syncloud works for you.
Subscribe today to keep using Syncloud after your free trial expires.
Click here to activate your subscription: Syncloud
Thank you for choosing Syncloud!

Does this means that FREE account disapear?

1 Like

Hi,

Sorry but this is the prior notice telling that we are not able to cover ever rising DNS bill and unfortunately I have to pay for it.

Last few months probably after adding more apps and more users amazon route53 bill got to a point where I have two options either shutdown syncloud.it free domain offering or start charging the users.

I must say there is a difference between producing open source code so everyone can see what is happening (this is not going away) and running it for free.

I really hope if you like what project is producing £5/month will be not too damaging to your budget but it will allow me to concentrate on improving the quality of the platform and adding more apps.

Sorry again if I have not communicated this decision properly to everyone apart from posting a message on our telegram channel.

1 Like

I am using syncloud only for private purposes and switched to the syncloud.it-Domain using syncloud DNS because of certificate problems. With paying £5/month only for the DNS-feature this makes no sense.
So the thing I have to do is to switch back to custom-DNS with certificate? Does it work better now? Is opening of port 80 still needed?

Hey, I understand the change is not expected.