I have a couple questions about Syncloud

Hello,

I’m looking for an easy DIY self hosting option for someone like me that’s a Linux nerd but not a system admin by trade. Researching all the options Syncloud seems like the best fit for me. Open Source and at around $6 USD a month it’s affordable over the long term. I just have a couple questions before I try a deployment.

1. Have you considered adding a program like LlamaGPT so we can play with local LLMs?

2. Will I be able to pick the domains apps run at? For example instead of nextcloud.mydomain.com can I choose cloud.mydomain.com.

3. Will I be able to use my base domain for my Matrix address? For example @me:mydomain.com instead of something like @me:matrix.mydomain.com.

4. My kids would love to have a Minecraft server on the box. Is there a prescribed way to run a Minecraft Forge Server on a Syncloud server without compromising it’s security or reliability?

Hi

Have you considered adding a program like LlamaGPT so we can play with local LLMs?

Yes, we have one planned: llava ai: ai chat assistant · Issue #695 · syncloud/platform · GitHub

Is this what you are looking for?

Will I be able to pick the domains apps run at? For example instead of nextcloud.mydomain.com can I choose cloud.mydomain.com.

Not out of the box at the moment, but as it is open source anytning can be done.

Will I be able to use my base domain for my Matrix address? For example @me:mydomain.com instead of something like @me:matrix.mydomain.com.

Not at the moment.

My kids would love to have a Minecraft server on the box. Is there a prescribed way to run a Minecraft Forge Server on a Syncloud server without compromising it’s security or reliability?

In 2015 I thought we do not need it, but today it is different, feel free to reopen: Minecraft server app · Issue #35 · syncloud/platform · GitHub

1 Like