NAT Loopback (Any easy solution available?)

Hello,
I am a complete newbie in all this so please bear with me.

My modem/router does not support NAT Loopback (Actually my ISP says that it does not).
Bridging the existing modem and using another router is also out of the equation as it is far more complex than I have the time or the knowledge to deal with.

So my question is this. Is there any way to overcome NAT Loopback and have Syncloud installed and accessed both from outside and within my house?

Ideally, the solution should be effortless and embedded in Syncloud.

Personally, once this is resolved, Syncloud will be my only recommendation when the conversation turns to private solutions. Until then, I will keep this only for people who know what they are doing.

Cheers to all!

1 Like

Hi,

I understand your frustration some users have this issue.

The solutions I know that can work today unfortunately involve users doing some additional work:

1. Change router. This can be done by users themselves or in theory they can pay some company to do that for them. This is a recommended solution.
  2. Add hosts records on each PC per app: Home · syncloud/platform Wiki · GitHub

The future state will be of cause swithing to IPv6 completely where NAT does not exist as many users already do: IPv6 – Google

If anyone knows any better solution please let ke know.

Until then, I will keep this only for people who know what they are doing.

Sure you are free to do what you want but I think people can at least try (how would you know if they have this or any other issue).

You also mentioned VPN in the email, interesting can you try installing VPN app from Syncloud store and connect to it that when inside your home network, will it overcome the problem?

I guess Syncloud VPN app may not help as DNS resolution still gives you public IP and you will be connecting from inside the network still.